Congress Gains Momentum in BRS Strongholds

In recent political assessments, three undivided districts—Khammam, Nalgonda, and Mahabubnagar—seem to be posing challenges to the ruling party’s plans for a triumphant consecutive win. The Congress party appears to be gaining momentum in these areas, causing concerns for the ruling BRS.

Khammam has historically been a tough terrain for the BRS, with the party securing only one out of 10 seats in both the 2014 and 2018 elections. Pinapaka, Illendu, Ashwaraopet, Wyra, Sattupalli, and Bhadrachalam constituencies within Khammam district continue to present challenges for the BRS in the upcoming elections.

Similarly, the Congress is confident in Nalgonda district, where it has consistently performed well. With 12 assembly segments, a tight contest is expected between the Congress and the BRS in most seats. The third district, Mahabubnagar, also presents tough competition for the BRS. Key constituencies like Kollapur, Jadcharla, Alampur, Atchampet, Narayanpet, Makthal, and Gadwal are witnessing intense battles between the Congress and the ruling party. Mahabubnagar constituency itself is experiencing a closely contested election.

Overall, the BRS faces challenges in 17 assembly constituencies where it has not secured victory even once. These include six seats in Khammam, eight seats in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) area, which includes seven seats held by the MIM, and Maheshwaram and LB Nagar in Rangareddy district. The electoral landscape in these three districts suggests a shift in favor of the Congress, posing hurdles for the BRS’ ambition of securing a successive electoral victory.