AP Elections 2024: Why Change For Sitting MLAs?

The recent Congress victory in Telangana has impacted neighboring Andhra Pradesh’s political scene. Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Minister, Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, aiming for a clean sweep with the ‘Why Not 175/175’ slogan, might not offer tickets to many sitting MLAs for the 2024 Assembly elections.

Observing the consequences of anti-incumbency in Telangana, Jagan Mohan Reddy appears cautious in candidate selection. Despite retaining sitting MLAs previously, a similar strategy didn’t secure victory for BRS in the elections. Learning from this, Jagan may drop about 50-60 YCP incumbents, along with 6-7 ministers.

Reports suggest negative ground-level feedback against some MLAs and ministers following the ‘Gadapa Gadapaku Mana Prabhutvam’ program initiated a year ago. Jagan relies on I-PAC and Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy’s survey organization for public feedback assessment.

His secretary, Iragavarapu Avinash, is reportedly analyzing these surveys and intelligence reports. Firm on backing only winning candidates, Jagan might release the final list of dropped MLAs by December’s end. If incumbents don’t get party tickets, new leaders will likely take over campaigning in their constituencies.